University Policies Follow-up on a Report FAQs

To Make a Report

Please choose the appropriate category from the list below:

Rice University EthicsLine

Rice University is committed to excellence at all levels and strives to support the Rice community in practicing the highest levels of ethical conduct. To facilitate this, Rice University has selected EthicsPoint to provide you with simple, risk-free ways to anonymously and confidentially report activities that may involve criminal conduct or violations of Rice University policies.

Persons making reports are not required to provide their names, and Rice University will treat the investigation of any report as a confidential matter. Reports submitted to EthicsPoint will be forwarded to the proper university officials for appropriate action. No faculty or staff member or student may be subjected to reprisal or retaliation for making a report or inquiry in good faith or for seeking guidance on dealing with potential or suspected improper behavior.


To File a Report

You may use any of the following methods to submit a report:

  • Call 1-866-294-4633 (toll free), or
  • Select your violation category from the list to the left, or
  • Para hacer una denuncia en espanol, favor de llamar 1-866-294-4633.

After you complete your report you will be assigned a unique code called a "report key." Write down your report key and password and keep them in a safe place. After 5-6 business days, use your report key and password to check your report for feedback or questions.

The Rice University Standards of Ethical Conduct and Policy 813, Whistleblower Protection are additional resources which discuss your rights and responsibilities as part of the Rice University community.

The following offices and individuals may also be able to assist you with any questions that you may have.

Chief Compliance Officer Ken Liddle X2287 kliddle@rice.edu
Director of Internal Audit Janet Covington X6312 jcov@rice.edu
University Controller Brad Fralic X4927 bradley.w.fralic@rice.edu
Information Security Marc Scarborough X5735 marc.a.scarborough@rice.edu
Athletics Compliance Bryan Blair X6919 bryan.b.blair@rice.edu
Environmental Health & Safety Kathryn Cavender X8800 cavender@ric.edu
Equal Employment Opportunity/Affirmative Action Russell Barnes X4350 rcb@rice.edu
General Counsel Richard Zansitis X5327 zansitis@rice.edu
Human Resources Rebecca Gould X4755 gould@rice.edu
Risk Management Renee Block X4751 rab@rice.edu
Research Compliance Krystal Toups X6200 krystal.toups@rice.edu
Title IX Russell Barnes X4350 rcb@rice.edu